Several more countries no longer require visas to visit South Africa

During the Budget Vote on Wednesday, the minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi announced the new visa requirements.

The South African government has published a new list of visa-free countries which includes New Zealand, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates..

The implementation has already begun and should be in full swing by November 2019.

According to Stats SA there has been an 11% decline in visitors from New Zealand between 2017 and 2018 and further decline in 2019.

During his SONA in both February and June, president Cyril Ramaphosa stated that the visa program required revision in order to boost tourism.

The updated list will also make business travel easier and Motsoaledi is confident the country will see more visitors from the visa-free countries:

  • Qatar
  • United Arab Emirates
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Cuba
  • Ghana
  • Sao Tome and Principe

The department are still giving consideration to three countries who together make up to around 30% of the world population – China, India and Nigeria.

Motsoaledi also announced that they will be rolling out the e-visas which will assist companies with critical skills shortages to obtain employee visas easier.

Home Affairs staff will also be increased by two and a half times for those who process visas for China and India and doubled in the department who process visas for Nigeria.