Comrades Marathon winners – Edward Mothibi and Gerda Steyn

Comrades Marathon 2019 was an exciting one with Gerda Steyn breaking the record and becoming the first female to complete an ‘up’ (Durban to Pietermaritzburg) run in less than six hours.

The 2004 record of 6:09:23 was held by Iena Nurgalieva.  Steyn beat the record by more than 10 minutes, stopping the clock at 5:58:53.

Steyn is also the first woman in 30 years to win both the Comrades and two Oceans.  Frith van der Merwe has held that record since 1989.

She was close to beating the Two Oceans Ulta-marathon record this year which is 06:09:23.

In a very close finish, Edward Mothibi was the winner of the 94th Comrades Marathon, coming in at 5:31:33 with last years winner, Bongumusa Mthembu only 25 seconds behind him.

Mothibi finished fourth in the 2018 Comrades Marathon.