A new parliament will be sworn in next week

The election results have been announced and next week, 400 members of Parliament will be sworn into the National Assembly in Cape Town.

There will be some new faces among the ever familiar crowd on the benches, however some will not be returning.

The African National Congress (ANC) have lost 19 seats in this election and will only hold 230 seats in Parliament while the Economic Freedom Fighters  (EFF) have gained 19 seats.

Together the ANC and EFF will hold enough majority to amend the constitution.

While the Democratic Alliance (DA) lost five seats, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) gained 14 and the Freedom front Plus (FFP) will hold 10 seats.

Parliament will see two newcomers with the GOOD and African Transformation Movement (ATM) who will take up two seats.

Parliamentary spokesperson Moloto Mothapo told eNCA that the induction of members is not a once off programme, but will continue throughout the five year period to ensure MPs continue to conduct themselves in a diligent manner.

Those who will not be returning to Parliament are Agang SA leader Andries Tloumma and after a decade an an MP, the chairperson of the standing committee on public accounts (Scopa) Themba Godi.