Tainted ANC officials still on MP list

Congress of South African Trade Union(Cosatu) have warned the African National Congress (ANC) that if they continue to keep corrupt officials in parliament, they risk loosing votes in the upcoming general elections.

President Cyril Ramaphosa has pleaded with South Africans to be patient as the inquiry process is still ongoing and action will be taken against those implicated in corruption.

IOL reported that Cosatu president Zingiswa Losi stated that the ANC has a duty to uphold ethical leadership and take action before the party feels the effects at the polls.

During the Nasrec conference of the ANC it was agreed that the morals of the party be protected from anyone who is involved in corruption. As long as the party continued to maintain those individuals, the more risk they have of damaging their place in the elections.

Losi said that while the rule of law is that you are presumed innocent until proven guilty, if you remain silent when implicated then your voters are left wondering if you are guilty.

Opposition parties might use the list of tainted officials against the ANC during their election campaigns.

The leaders who allegedly received monthly bribes from the facilities management company Bosasa include Environmental Affairs Minister Nomvula Mokonyane and ANC MP Vincent Smith.

The ANC currently refuse to remove tainted officials until they have confirmed proof of corruption.

Some of these accused are possibly still included in the party’s list of MP’s for 2019, former Premier of North West, Spra Mahumapelo, Mosebenzi Zwane, Faith Muthambi and Bathabile Dlamini.